Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
C. Hugh Friedman New Lawyer Award
Share |

Lawyers Club established the C. Hugh Friedman New Lawyer Award in 2013 to recognize members in practice seven years or less who are champions in advancing Lawyers Club's mission and demonstrating leadership and professionalism within the San Diego legal community.

C. Hugh Friedman
The award is named for Lawyers Club founding member Professor C. Hugh Friedman (1931-2013), husband to Lawyers Club founding mother, the Honorable Lynn Schenk, and the longest-serving professor in the history of University of San Diego School of Law.

Professor C. Hugh Friedman and Hon. Lynn Schenk
At the May 16, 2013 Annual Dinner, we introduced the C. Hugh Friedman New Lawyer Award with this video:

Lawyers Club C. Hugh Friedman New Lawyer Award from Paul Friedman

Professor Friedman's excellence in the practice of law and his deep commitment to community service and gender equality have set high standards for our junior attorney members. Read more about Professor Friedman in this interview by California Business Practice - Issue One. Lawyers Club is proud to honor Professor Friedman's legacy with this award.

Recipients of the Lawyers Club of San Diego C. Hugh Friedman New Lawyer Award:

2016 Carla Sanderson

At the May 19, 2016 Annual Dinner, we presented the C. Hugh Friedman New Lawyer Award to Carla Sanderson. Carla Sanderson is a civil litigator in the areas of school district defense and employment litigation. Lawyers Club members know her as co-editor of Lawyers Club News and former co-chair of the Student Committee. Sanderson joined Lawyers Club in 2010, as a second year law student at California Western School of Law. She immediately joined the Student Committee and became the co-chair in 2011. In part due to her work on the Student Committee, the Lawyers Club membership saw incredible growth during her two years with the Student Committee and additional programming geared towards law school students.

After graduating, Sanderson continued her work with the Student Committee and subsequently took on another leadership position as Associate Editor of the Lawyers Club newsletter. Three years later, and now as the newsletter’s co-editor, she has been instrumental in continuing the rich tradition of the newsletter and adapting the newsletter to new technology and content. Lawyers Club is honored to present Carla Sanderson with the 2016 Lawyers Club C. Hugh Friedman Award.
2015 Rebecca Zipp
2014 Holly Amaya
2013 Amanda Allen
more Calendar

Co-Sponsored MCLE Event: POWER Act Panel

Lawyers Club of San Diego

402 West Broadway, Suite 1260
San Diego CA 92101

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal