Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
Belva Lockwood Award
Share |

Lawyers Club established the Belva Lockwood Award in 1985 to recognize members whose contributions to the organization are outstanding. The award is named for Belva Anne Lockwood (1830-1917), who devoted her life to improving the social, economic and political status of women and to advocating equality for all.

About Belva Ann Lockwood
Her career was a series of firsts, including being the first woman attorney to be admitted to practice before the U.S. Supreme Court (in 1879) and other federal courts, and the first woman to run for the office of President of the United States (in 1884 and 1888). Lawyers Club salutes Belva Lockwood’s personal courage and commitment to equality and is proud to honor her memory with this award. Read more...

Recipients of the Lawyers Club of San Diego Belva Lockwood Award:

2019 Regina Petty


Lawyers Club is pleased to recognize accomplished attorney Regina Petty, Partner and Chief Diversity Officer at Fisher Phillips, with the Belva Lockwood Award. Petty, a respected member of the bar and a trailblazer in her own right, embodies the same commitment to equality and legal excellence as the namesake of this award. 

Throughout Petty’s groundbreaking career, the thread that she has woven through every position she has held, every committee she has sat on, and every award she has won, has been her dedication to diversity and inclusiveness. She has used her intelligence, dedication, passion and integrity to demand equality, not just for her own benefit, but for the benefit of generations of attorneys to come, just as Belva Lockwood did over a hundred years ago.

Lawyers Club of San Diego is pleased to honor Regina Petty’s dedication to the legal community with the Belva Lockwood Award for 2019.



2018 Hon. Randa Trapp

2017 Nadia Bermudez

2016 Hon. Cynthia Bashant

2015 Hon. Katherine Bacal
2014 Teresa M. Beck
2013 Elaine Alexander
2012 Professor C. Hugh Friedman
2011 Vickie Turner
2010 Jay Jeffcoat
2009 Jane Engelman
2008 Hon. Patricia Yim Cowett
2007 Lilys D. McCoy
2006 Jill Burkhardt
2005 DeAnn Salcido
2004 Hon. Stephanie Sontag
2003 George W. Brewster Jr.
2002 Hon. Cindy Dobler Davis
2001 Janice F. Mulligan

2000 Candace M. Carroll
1999 Cynthia Thornton
1998 Hon. Madge Bradley
1997 Hon. Paula S. Rosenstein
1996 Kitty Juniper
1995 Rivian Taylor
1994 Janice Kaye Ranson
1993 Judith Copeland
1992 Bonnie Reading
1991 Charles Bird
1990 Paula Hui
1989 Hon. Maria Arroyo Prokop
1988 Bonnie Dumanis
1987 Hon. Marilyn Huff
1986 Hon. Anthony Joseph
1985 Betty Evans Boone

more Calendar

She Fest

SD Pride

Equal Pay Day Luncheon--Rescheduled to November 19, 2020

Lawyers Club of San Diego

402 West Broadway, Suite 1260
San Diego CA 92101

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal